The 10th of October 2017 the three Presidents of the European Region Tyrol-South Tyrol-Trentino – Günther Platter, Arno Kompatscher and Ugo Rossi - welcomed about 150 people gathered at the Representation of the European Region in Brussels.
Among them were the President of the Committee of the Regions, Karl Heinz Lambertz, and Johannes Hahn, Commissioner for European Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations.


  • tyr_111.JPG
  • tyr_112.JPG
  • tyr_114.JPG
  • tyr_116.JPG
  • tyr_117.JPG
  • tyr_121.JPG
  • tyr_122.JPG
  • tyr_130.JPG
  • tyr_131.JPG
  • tyr_134.JPG
  • tyr_142.JPG
  • tyr_153.JPG
  • tyr_155.JPG
  • tyr_168.JPG
  • tyr_176.JPG


The main focus of the event has been the cross border cooperation in Europe. Ugo Rossi underlined the shared history of the three regions and the importance of the cooperation in the frame of the Euregio in numerous important fields, such as mobility, environment protection and migration. He highlighted as well the essential results achieved and the growing role of the EGTC (European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation) in the future. Arno Kompatscher recalled the importance of the European Union for a territory that has suffered through the presence of a border such as the Brenner and the central role that regions can play in countering the nationalist tendencies that are rising. He underlined how the autonomy of the three regions supported their development and how the Euregio is an example of the successful results that can be achieved "united in diversity”, as the European Union's motto reminds us. Günther Platter then stressed that cross border cooperation is especially important during difficult times and that the Euregio is the driver of the European Strategy for the Alpine Region. The President of the Land Tyrol emphasized as well the strategic importance of cooperation in different sectors, as demonstrated by the Brenner tunnel.

Two important happenings were highlighted: Autonomous Province of Trento as coordinating partner within the Euregio will hand over the presidency for the next two years to the Autonomous Province of Bolzano/Bozen-South Tyrol. Furthermore, Tyrol will take over the presidency of the EUSALP – the European Strategy for the Alpine macro region in 2018.




Tags: Event englishTyrolSouth TyrolTrentino